Borrowing A Page From Dickens

It recently occurred to me that back in the day (“the day” being the time of Charles Dickens) writers routinely published their books in monthly or weekly installments, typically in magazine formats. In fact, during the Victorian period, it was the dominant method of novel publication. In Dickens’ case, the installment format enabled him to evaluate his reading audience’s reaction.  Some suggest that he, in turn, used the feedback he received to modify the plots and characters in several of his books. I thought it would be interesting to breathe new life into that Victorian tradition and so, over the next two weeks, I’ve decided to use my blog to “publish” my most recent children’s book, Todd’s Story, in serial format (i.e., a chapter a day).  I have several reasons for taking this rather unusual, but exciting, step.  First, I’m eager to spread its “mostly-based-on-a-true-story” message of sibling love and perseverance.  Second, I want to provide my audience with a feel for my writing style in anticipation of the fall release of “Dear Ashley . . .”  – A Father’s Reflections and Letters to His Daughter on Life, Love and Hope.  Finally, I thought it would be fun for my readers and “followers” to have something positive to look forward to each morning or evening when they “check-in” with the blog, in the hope that it will encourage them (that would be you!!!) to share “what’s happening” with friends, family members and colleagues, so that my audience will continue to grow.  The story will begin with Chapter 1 tomorrow morning.  For now, I will leave you with this:

 Todd’s Story – A Mostly True Story of Sibling Love and Perseverance

 “There is no failure except in no longer trying.  There is no defeat except from within, no really insurmountable barrier save our own inherent weakness of purpose.”

Kin Hubbard

 Dedication

To Doug, a very special young man, who, through his tender relationship with his brother, taught me far more about life and love than I ever taught him about baseball in one very “magical” season.

Leave a Reply

